Board of Directors

Michael Chang

Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Chang is the Chairman and CEO of OBI Pharma, and founder of both Optimer Pharmaceuticals and OBI. Dr. Chang has served as President and Chief Executive Officer at Optimer from November 1998 until May 2010. In 1994, Dr. Chang established Pharmanex, a health products company, which was acquired by NuSkin Enterprises, where he was appointed Chief Scientific Adviser. Prior to this, he founded Cinogen in 1993. Dr. Chang was formerly the Director of Medical Chemistry at Rhone-Poulenc Rorer and Deputy Director of Medicinal Chemistry at Merck, Sharpe & Dohme (US Merck).
Dr. Chang received his Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry from Brandeis University, and conducted postdoctoral research at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He received his BS in Chemistry from Fu Jen Catholic University in Taiwan. He holds 39 patents and has published more than 69 scientific papers in peer reviewed journals.

Tamon Tseng, LLM.


Mr. Tseng joined Ruentex Group in 1992, and is currently serving as Special Assistant to the CEO of Ruentex Industries, Ltd.

Mr. Tseng was called to the English Bar in 1985. He received a B.A. from the University of Cambridge, an LL.M. from University College London, and an LL.B. from National Chengchi University.

Yun Yen, PhD


Professor Yen is currently the Chair Professor at graduate institute of Cancer Molecular Biology and Drug Discovery, Taipei Medical University. He also serves as Director at Tanvex BioPharma, Inc.; Advisor of Advisory Committee at Allianz Pharmascience Ltd.

Professor Yen graduated with Ph.D. (Pathology and Cell Biology) degree from Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia. He is the Honor Professor and Physician, Medical Oncology, City of Hope National Medical Center, USA.; and was the President of Taipei Medical University.

Frank Chen


Mr. Chen is currently serving as Vice General Manager, Investment Management and Special Assistant to Chairman of Ruentex Group.

He obtained his Master’s degree in Business Administration from National Taiwan University.

Jerry G. Fong, J.D.

Independent Director

Professor Fong is currently the Distinguished Professor of Law at National Cheng Chi University (NCCU), College of Law; Professor of Graduate Institute of Technology Innovation & Intellectual Property Management at NCCU. He also serves as Director at Academy of Promoting Economic Legislation (APEL); President of AMOT, a non-profit association devoted to visual traceability of agricultural products. He was the Director of Graduate Institute of Intellectual Property (IIP) at NCCU, Director of the Department of Financial & Economic Law at Chung Yuan Christian University (CYCU), Board Supervisor of Taiwan Futures Exchange (TFE), Legal Counsel for Development Center for Biotechnology (DCB), Consultant for Industrial Technology Research Institute (ITRI) International Cooperation Office, and National Science Council Scientific Rights Committee member.

Professor Fong graduated with J.D. degree from Cornell Law School, USA, and practiced law in both USA and Taiwan.

Taychang Wang, PhD

Independent Director

Professor Wang is currently the Professor at Department of Accounting, National Taiwan University, as well as a member of the Compensation Committee of Tah Tong Textile Co., Ltd., a consultant to the Public Service Pension Fund Management Board and a member of the Management Board of the Telecommunications Universal Services Fund of the National Communications Commission. He was a PwC Professor in Accounting at National Taiwan University. He has served as an independent director of First Financial Holding Company and a director of TacBright Optronics Corporation.

Howard S. Lee, PhD

Independent Director

Dr. Lee is the Chairman of TAHO Pharmceuticals, Ltd. and Transwell Biotech Co., Ltd. He also serves as Director of several biotech companies.

Dr. Lee graduated with Ph.D. degree in Chemistry, University of Southern California, USA. He received his BS in Chemistry from Fu Jen Catholic University in Taiwan.